Press Release


Monday, December 17, 2018

HOUSTON – Mission Veterans Memorial Quarterback Landry Gilpin has been named the 2018 Mr. Texas Football winner. Gilpin will be honored on field at the Academy Sports + Outdoors Texas Bowl on Thursday, Dec. 27 at NRG Stadium, when the Baylor University Bears take on the Vanderbilt University Commodores.

Mr. Texas Football presented by Wells Fargo annually recognizes the high school player of the year in the state of Texas. The award, given in collaboration with Dave Campbell’s Texas Football, the leading publication for all things football in Texas, is voted on by fans, players and coaches throughout the state.

Gilpin, a 5-11, 155-pound quarterback, led an offense that averaged more than 46 points per game, totaled 4,544 yards and 50 touchdowns passing, and another 2,112 yards and 32 touchdowns on the ground. In two fewer games, Gilpin amassed 443 more yards and four more touchdowns than Allen QB Kyler Murray, the 2014 Mr. Texas Football Player of the Year and 2018 Heisman Trophy winner. The quarterback guided Mission Veterans Memorial to become the third Valley team to reach the 5A state quarterfinals since 1990. Landry Gilpin’s numbers and unwavering leadership make him a worthy recipient of the 2018 Mr. Texas Football Player of the Year.

Former winners of the award include 2018 Heisman Trophy winner Kyler Murray (2013-14, Allen), 2012 Heisman Trophy winner Johnny Manziel (2010, Kerrville Tivy), former Texas Longhorns running back Johnathan Gray (2011, Aledo), Tampa Bay Buccaneers running back Jacquizz Rodgers (2007, Lamar Consolidated) and former Southern Methodist quarterback Garrett Gilbert (2008, Lake Travis). Oklahoma State freshman QB Spencer Sanders took home the award in 2017.

Fans, coaches and players voted for the state’s player of the week each week during the high school season by going to Each weekly winner was announced online on each of the voting sites and their social media pages. All of the weekly winners were nominated for the Player of the Year award. The winner is selected at the conclusion of the high school football season, based on votes cast throughout the season as well as editorial staff consideration. The votes were tabulated by Dave Campbell’s Texas Football.

The Academy Sports + Outdoors 2018 Texas Bowl will be played on Thursday, Dec. 27 at NRG Stadium and will be televised on ESPN at 8 p.m. CT. The game will once again feature a matchup between Big 12 and SEC opponents, with this year’s conference representatives being the Baylor University Bears and Vanderbilt University Commodores. Overall, the Texas Bowl has ranks fourth in attendance since 2014, trailing only the Rose, Cotton and Peach Bowls in that time. 

For more information on the Mr. Texas Football Award, visit or



The Academy Sports + Outdoors Texas Bowl is owned and operated by ESPN Events and managed locally by Lone Star Sports & Entertainment. The Bowl will showcase teams from the Big 12 and the SEC, two of the country’s premier conferences, for the next two years. The Academy Sports + Outdoors Texas Bowl has been a tremendous success both on and off the field over the years. The game has ranked fourth in attendance since 2014 behind only the Rose, Cotton and Peach Bowls in that time. In terms of its community impact, the bowl has generated an average of $50 million annually for the Houston economy and through its relationship with DePelchin Children’s Center, its official charitable beneficiary, more than $1.4 million in financial support has been donated to the city’s oldest children’s charity.